Don’t Get Caught In The Hustle…

hustle

As the Autumn season has made her appearance, it is time get in a position of slowing down. For most of us slowing down never seems to happen but it is essential to nourish our well-being. Slowing down is the pause we all need in our daily lives.

Yesterday, I attended a live book reading where Tayari Jones the author of An American Marriage help me understand why the hustling of life steals your joy. During the Q&A section of the event, I decided to ask her a question. I asked her, What advice do you have for writers who desire to see their book in print?

Her response was effortless, don’t stop writing and don’t get caught up in the hustle of writing. Her words were simple but yet profound. When I left the event her words haunted me; I spent most of the night ruminating over her words. Apart of me knew her words were like medicine to my new journey in writing. I did not want to get caught up in the hustle of selling and promoting my books. For the first time in my life, I wanted to enjoy the journey.

I wanted to create an intimate community with my readers. I wanted to see the sparkle in their eyes after reading my books. And I knew it couldn’t happen if I got distracted by trying to sell a book versus building relationships.

Slowing down helps us reconnect back to the essential things such as family, friends and living in the present moment. Unlike, hustling slowing down teaches us the importance of being patient and the power of gratitude.

So, what small changes will you implement to go from hustling to slowing down in this season?

Leave a comment